How long does a copyright last?

As a general rule, for works created after January 1, 1978, copyright protection lasts for the life of the author plus an additional 70 years.

---

Copyright protection lasts for the life of the author plus an additional 70 years: As a general rule, for works created after January 1, 1978.

---

In the US, for works created after January 1st 1978, copyright protection lasts for the life of the author + an additional 70 years. For anonymous, pseudonymous, or works made for hire, the protection lasts 95 years from 1st publication, or a term of 120 years from creation, whichever expires first.