What is mediterrean mean?

Mediterranean comes from two Latin words. Medi stands for middle. Terra or terrean stands for earth. It means middle of the earth. In ancient times, the population was around the Mediterranean and that was the only ocean than many people saw. It was the only ocean that people crossed.