Can porcupines float?

Porcupines are buoyant, in part due to the hollow structure of their quills. This helps porcupines float, but although North American, crested and brush-tailed porcupines are keen swimmers, not all porcupine species are fond of water. Porcupine quills are even sometimes used by fishermen as floats.