Why did kobe bryant have two n. b. a. numbers?

His original number came from Adidas ABCD Camp, 143, whose digits add up to 8, and the number he wore in Italy. He switched to No. 24 in the 2006-07 season, the number he had in high school at Lower Merion. The success with both made it impossible for the Lakers to only retire one of his numbers.