Who discovered the northwest passage?

An ice-bound northern route was discovered in 1850 by the Irish explorer Robert McClure; Scotsman John Rae explored a more southerly opening Scotsman John Rae in 1854. Norwegian Roald Amundsen made the first complete passage in 1903 to 1906.