Where did the word pickleball come from?

In 1965, the game of pickleball was created by Joel Pritchard, Bill Bell and Barney McCallum on Bainbridge Island, Washington, on a regulation badminton court that was paved because of the steady rain. The name referred to the thrown-together leftover non-starters in the “pickle boat” of crew races.