How do you tell if hamburger is bad?

One way is to smell it. If it smells fishy, throw it out. Don't ever let it sit out unrefrigerated. A darker color isn't always an indication that your meat has spoiled, but that combined with a bad smell or slimy feel may be. Frozen foods should be defrosted in the fridge, not on the counter.