What's the difference between a full moon and a new moon?

A new Moon is the opposite of a full Moon. During a full Moon, we see the side of the Moon that is being illuminated by the Sun, giving the Moon its bright appearance. During a new Moon, we see the side of the Moon that is not being illuminated by the Sun, and Moon blends in with the dark night sky.