Where did the name hockey come from?

The name hockey has been attributed to the French word hoquet - curved shepherd’s hook. A french ball and stick field game called ‘hoque’ was brought to England in 1066. Hockey was first depicted on the ice by the Dutch 16th century paintings. By the mid-1800s the word ‘hockey’ became the standard.