How many periods were there?

Paleozoic Era. The Paleozoic spanned from roughly 542 to 251 million years ago (Ma) and is subdivided into six geologic periods; from oldest to youngest they are the Cambrian, Ordovician, Silurian, Devonian, Carboniferous and Permian.