What's the average retirement age of a major league baseball player?

That means the average professional athlete will likely retire before they hit age 30; according to the RBC research, the average retirement age for MLB players is 29.5, followed by 28.2 for players in the NHL, 28 for NBA players, and 27.6 for NFL players.