When was the cotton gin created?

Handheld roller gins had been used in the Indian subcontinent since at earliest AD 500. The Indian worm-gear roller gin was invented sometime around the 16th century. A modern mechanical cotton gin was created by American inventor Eli Whitney in 1793 and patented in 1794.