What's the difference between a chemical change and a physical change?

A chemical change results from a chemical reaction, while a physical change is when matter changes forms but not chemical identity. Examples of chemical changes are burning, cooking, rusting, and rotting. Examples of physical changes are boiling, melting, freezing, and shredding.