What is the piercing enchantment do in minecraft?

The Piercing enchantment allows the arrow fired from a crossbow to pierce through multiple entities. You add the Piercing enchantment to any crossbow using an enchanting table or anvil. Then use the enchanted crossbow to fight, just line up your enemies and then fire an arrow through them all!