What is the jewel shillelagh?

The Jeweled Shillelagh is the hardware given to the winner of the annual contest between the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and the USC Trojans. Legend states that Howard Hughes' pilot brought this Gaelic Warclub made of blackthorn oak, back from a trip in Ireland in 1952.