What is a bald eagle?

A bald eagle is a bird

---

The bald eagle is a bird of prey found in North America. A sea eagle, it has two known subspecies and forms a species pair with the white-tailed eagle, which occupies the same niche as the bald eagle in the Palearctic. The term "bald" refers to the white head of the eagle.