Who made the first video game ever?

There are two video games that compete for the first video game ever. The first is the Bertie the Brain a giant tic-tac-toe machine built in 1950 by Josef Kates. The second is Tennis for two which came out in 1958 which is considered by many the true first video game due to how it plays.