Who is james whitey bulger?

James Joseph "Whitey" Bulger Jr., born September 3, 1929, was an American organized crime boss and FBI informant who led the Winter Hill Gang in the Winter Hill neighborhood of Somerville, Massachusetts. He was murdered on October 30, 2018 at the Hazelton Penitentiary.