How wide are train tracks?

The US standard railroad gauge is 4 feet, 8.5 inches (Gauge means width between the two rails). The U.S. federal safety standards allow the standard gauge to vary from 4 ft 8 in (1,420 mm) to 4 ft 9 1⁄2 in (1,460 mm) for operation up to 60 mph (97 km per hour).

---

The standard gauge of train tracks is 4 feet and 8.5 inches, or 144 centimeters.