Does honey have antibiotic properties?

Honey is one the oldest known antibiotics, tracing back to ancient times. Egyptians frequently used honey as a natural antibiotic and skin protectant. Honey contains hydrogen peroxide. The honey can help kill off the bacteria and aid in the healing process.