Who fired the first shots of the civil war?

On Friday, April 12th, 1861 a Virginia secessionist, Edmund Ruffin, claimed to have fired the "first shot" of the battle and the Civil War. At about 7 a.m., some two and a half hours after the general bombardment of the fort had commenced, Anderson gave the order for Sumter's guns to begin firing.