Is d. o. p. a word?

Yes, "dop," spelled D-O-P, is a real word in English. It has two unrelated primary meanings: to abruptly dip below the water's surface; or, a device that holds a gemstone as it's being cut. (There are other meanings, but they all derive from one of those two.)