What are deers afraid of?

Deer are afraid of predators like dogs and are likely to steer clear if they suspect one is nearby. ... Even the decoy will frighten deer. Scattering dog hair on the ground around specific plants and trees or around the perimeter of your garden gives off the scent of a predator