How do you keep potatoes from sprouting?

If you have a dark, cool closet away from the heat of the kitchen, store them there. Also, it's best to take them out of the plastic bag and put them in a basket or breathable cotton sack. And finally, make sure they are totally dry before storing long-term. Damp potatoes will rot or sprout faster.