Is a nurse practitioner a doctor?

Doctors must complete four years of undergraduate education, followed by four years of medical school and 3-7 years of residency. Nurse practitioners complete four years of undergraduate study, generally work for several years, then complete 2-4 years of additional schooling for their DNP degrees.