What part of the cow is the fillet mignon?

The filet mignon is cut from the center of the beef tenderloin, an oblong muscle called the psoas major, which extends along the rear portion of the spine, directly behind the kidney, from about the hip bone to the thirteenth rib. It doesn't get much exercise, which is why the meat is so tender.