What's the definition of tough love?

Tough love is the promotion of a person's welfare, especially that of an addict, child, or criminal, by enforcing certain constraints on them, or requiring them to take responsibility for their actions. NORTH AMERICAN a political policy designed to encourage self-help by restricting state benefits.