What are eggs classified as?

The USDA categorizes eggs as an animal product and puts them in the protein foods group. In fact, they say that “all foods made from meat, poultry, seafood, beans and peas, eggs, processed soy products, nuts, and seeds are considered part of the protein foods group.”