What does a butterfly symbolize?

First of all butterflies aren’t considered “animals”, they belong to the insect family, the class Insecta & in the order known as Lepidoptera, including moths. Butterflies symbolize many things across different cultures from life, endurance, hope & transformation-signifying changing phases in life.