What is the abbreviation q. e. d.?

Q. E. D. stands for the Latin phrase "quod erat demonstrandum." This means "which was to be shown" - in other words, the person is saying, "I just proved what I set out to prove, and showed you the proof." It is used at the end of mathematical & philosophical proofs, to indicate the end of proof.