Can onions be composted?

Yes, you can compost onions – but with a few considerations. Like potatoes, whole onions have a tendency to regrow and sprout new shoots to grow new onions before they rot down. If you want to avoid that, chop the onion up into halves or quarters before you put it in the compost bin.

---

Yes, all plant material can be composted.