What part of speech is the word few?

Depending on context, the word "few" may be an adjective (e.g., he had few friends), ,a pronoun (e.g., few chose to challenge him),, or a noun (e.g., the few and the proud).

---

Few can be used in the following ways: as a determiner (followed by a plural noun): Few people live there now.There were a few animals in the barn.