Where do elderberries grow?

Elderberries, genus Sambucus, are native to North America, east of the Rocky Mountains, and are also found in parts of Mexico and Central America.

---

The American elderberry [Sambucus nigra ssp canadensis], is a species native to a large area of North America east of the Rocky Mountains, and south through eastern Mexico and Central America to Panama.