Why can't fish breathe out of water?

Out of the water, the delicate gills will collapse like wet tissue paper, and very little surface area is left exposed, so gases can not be properly exchanged. Therefore, most fish can't survive out of the water for a long time, because oxygen deficiency will catch up with them and they asphyxiate.