Is it called sand because it's between the sea and the land?

According to Quora.com, the English word ‘sand’ comes from Old Dutch slash proto-German ‘zand’, which has nothing to do with either sea OR land, but referred originally to unstable ground, as near rivers. Most ‘sand’ sized material occurs on continents, not along seashores.