What's the weather thing on earth?

Weather on Earth is caused by heat from the sun and movement of the air. All weather happens in the lower layer of Earth's atmosphere, which is a layer of gases surrounding Earth. The sun's heat warms the air in this layer to different temperature levels in different places.