What is a substitute for thai basil?

Regular Italian Basil can be used as a substitute for Thai Basil. The flavor is not quite the same, Thai Basil is a little more resinous and aromatic but the easier found fresh Italian Basil will be an acceptable substitute. Do not use dried basil, it will not be a good substitute in Thai cuisine.