What race was alexander the great?

Alexander the Great was King of Macedon. He is frequently depicted in ancient art as having blonde hair, and olive or fair skin. The translation of the word for his hair color from ancient Greek is reddish blonde. Ancient Macedon's royal family claimed to descend from the Greek demi-god Heracles.