Where did the term nurse ratchet come from?

I don't know how the directors of the movie One Flew over the cuckoos nest selected the name Ratchet (sounds somewhat like reched?) but in the movie, starring Jack Nicholson, nurse Rachet was the evil nurse that harassed the mentally ill patients in the mental ward