Where did the expression dead ringer come from?

The idiom Dead Ringer means an exact duplicate and derives from 19th-century horse-racing slang for a horse racing under a false name and pedigree; "ringer" was a late nineteenth-century term for a duplicate, usually implying dishonesty, and "dead" in this case means "precise", as in "dead center".