What was the first south american country christopher columbus landed in?

Upon reaching the Americas, Christopher Columbus's first landing point was in the Caribbean islands. But as for his exploration of the South American coast, he first set foot in what is now present-day Venezuela on the Paria Peninsula. He called it Isla Santa, claiming the land for Spain.