What is a u. e. we?

The ultraviolet index or UV Index is an international standard measurement of the strength of sunburn-producing ultraviolet (UV) radiation at a particular place and time. It is primarily used in daily forecasts aimed at the general public, and is increasingly available as an hourly forecast as well.