What is the difference between white cake mix and yellow cake mix?

Yellow cake mix uses whole-wheat pastry flour and egg yolks or whole eggs. The white variant uses ordinary flour and only egg whites. Base cakes made from yellow cake mix are richer, moister, and more bodied as compared to those made out of the white kind.