What is the origin of kitten caboodle?

The phrase is actually KIT and CABOODLE. It has nothing to do with kittens. A "kit" is an old word for "gear" and "caboodle" is an old word for bundle. So the phrase means all your gear and what you carry it in. It means Everything.