How many pokemon are in sword and shield?

The Galar regional Pokédex contains 400 Pokémon. The games support more Pokémon through the use of Pokémon HOME. About 200 more Pokémon will be added with the Expansion Pass. Pokémon added in the DLC will not be available for capture in the base game, but can be traded or transferred over.

---

There's a total of 81 new species and 13 Galarian forms - making for a total of 94 new Pokémon and an overall total of 400 Pokemon.