How long is minecraft day?

Overall, a day in Minecraft lasts about 12 minutes, give or take a few. There is only 20 min. per day, and 7 min. at night, if you are unlucky, and don't have a bed, you have to find a way to survive the night away from all the mobs that spawn at night..