What does protein do for the body?

Proteins are essential nutrients for the human body. They are one of the building blocks of body tissue and can also serve as a fuel source. As a fuel, proteins provide as much energy density as carbohydrates: 4 kcal per gram; in contrast, lipids provide 9 kcal per gram

---

Our body uses protein: to build & repair tissues; make enzymes, hormones & other chemicals; for brain function, cell regeneration, healthier skin & hair, & increased immune function. It's an important building block of bones, muscles, cartilage, skin & blood.