What are canoe twists?

Try the Canoe Twist. Stand upright, feet apart. ... Exhale, and sweep the hands, arms, shoulders, and chest to the left, as if you were rowing a canoe. At the same time, lift the left knee up and to the right. Inhale and return to the starting position.