What is the basket region?

I'm pretty sure that you mean the "Basque" region, which is generally considered part of the North of Spain, and which has long attempted to secede or at least gain more autonomy. The Basque peoples extend into southern France, as well, but there's no equivalent separatist movement there. Yet.