Where did fortune cookies come from?

One story behind the mysterious origin of the fortune cookie is.....The Chinese immigrant, David Jung, who founded the Hong Kong Noodle Company while living in Los Angeles, invented the cookie in 1918. He created the cookie and passed them out free on the streets.